UST’s Aljon Mariano issues public apology

UST's Aljon Mariano issues public apologyGROWLING Tiger Aljon Mariano had issued a public apology after netizens, particularly his fellow Thomasians, bashed him for performing sub-par during the final do-or-die game against La Salle.

Read the full apology after the jump:

Mga minamahal kong Tomasino.

For the last few hours, the issue of me not performing the very best like no one ever was became out of control. Tonight, I want to set the record straight. You deserve an explanation from me, because you are the people who lined up as early as 3 AM just to buy a ticket for the game.

As you recall, the game play during the third quarter was unnecessarily stupid even after the Growling Tigers had more than a 10-point lead.

I was anxious to protect my team and during that time had conversations with many people, also known as myself. I had no intents, I don’t know what to do. As I mentioned, the game play was stupid. And as you remember, the outcome had been criticized by netizens, and adjudged free, fair and decisive by UAAP referees.

That said, let me tell you how I personally feel. I recognize that having no intents was a lapse in judgment. I am sorry. I also regret taking so long to speak before you on this matter. I take full responsibility for what I have done, and what I have failed to do and I ask you, my brothers and sisters, those good people who may have had their faiths and wallets shaken by these events, to pray for me to the Lord, our God. I want to assure you that I have redoubled my efforts to play for the team and earn your trust.

Nagagambala ako. Maliwanag na may kakulangan sa wastong pagpapasya ang nangyaring laro ko. Pinagsisisihan ko ito nang lubos. Pinananagutan ko nang lubusan ang aking mga ginawa, at aking mga hindi ginawa at humihingi ako ng patawad sa inyo, sa aking mga kapatid sa pananampalataya, sa lahat ng mga butihing tao na nabawasan ng tiwala at ng pera dahil sa mga pangyayaring ito, upang ipagdasal ninyo ang aking kaluluwa sa ating Panginoong Diyos. Ibig kong tiyakin sa inyo na lalo pa akong magsisikap upang maglaro para sa kuponan at matamo inyong tiwala.

I became a player with a mandate to carry out a plan for the team. Since that time, I have focused on making the tough but necessary decisions to make up for the quarters with game play neglect. We tried our best, but I guess our best wasn’t good enough.

Nothing should stand in the way of this work, or the next phase of my being the new team captain, which includes nothing; and an expansion of our successful 18 basketball championships.

That is why I want to close this chapter and move on with the business of playing basketball. I ask each and everyone of you to join hands with me in a show of unity, to help forge one Thomasian community, where everyone never shall fail when they try to shoot a 3-point buzzer beater, and everybody has the opportunity to use their God-given talents to properly block a shoot by Thomas Torres.

Our team is strong and getting stronger. The progress is steady and I ask you to walk with me on this journey to rebuild our great team. I remain your humble servant and promise you that I will fulfill my amazing oath of office to serve the people to the best of my ability.

God bless the University of Santo Tomas.

De La Salle University’s Green Archers took this year’s UAAP basketball championship crown after scoring 71-69 against UST in a final do-or-die game on October 12, 2013 at the MOA Arena.

I wouldn’t go too much about the details of the game because I am not sporty but the bottomline is that it ended in a nail-biting overtime, and the rest is history.

UPDATE: It is reported that Former President, and now Pampanga representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is filing a plagiarism complaint against Aljon Mariano because he allegedly copied her iconic “I Am Sorry” speech.

Leave a Reply

